//
you're reading...
Food, Miscellaneous, Nature

Life Finds a Way


No Garden This Year

“Life finds a way”. Yeah I know, cheesy quote from Jurassic Park but it was fitting.

I have discovered the secret to gardening. Well, that is how I’m apparently supposed to garden.

And it seems that strategy is to do absolutely nothing, not even to plant anything!

After about 3 years of trying to grow green beans, squash, tomatoes, bell peppers and, yes, chard, nothing hardly ever grew. I’d get a few beans here and there, barely enough for a side dish. Never got any tomatoes or squash (one of the hardiest of veggies to grow). So this year, I decided to not even try. Figured, “Why waste the money and time.”

And what happens when I do nothing? Yep, stuff grows like mad. Better than it ever did when I put effort into the task.

What’s even more amusing is that right there where the chard is towering into broad leafed plummage…was where I tried to raise yellow squash and zucchini. The chard I did plant (2 years ago) was in the planting box  clear up at the top of the picture, around the corner of the house, next to the white picket fence. And the best I could manage then was a few flimsy strands. This new growth is on steroids!

Does life find a way? I guess it does. And it makes all the decisions… 🙂

_______________________________
Follow on Twitter , Facebook & Pinterest
Discussion

6 thoughts on “Life Finds a Way

  1. Ha! That made me smile. One thing I love about the earth and that we all forget – it knows exactly what it’s doing with or without our interference. It gives me hope – things will always grow. Glad you have lots of great fresh produce in your garden now!

    Posted by Just Be V | April 18, 2014, 2:32 am
  2. Chard is the easiest plant to grow. They look so healthy!

    Posted by seeker | April 20, 2014, 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

