//
you're reading...
blogging, Fiction, Miscellaneous, science fiction, SciFi, Writers, Writing

For anyone interested in self-publishing


snoopy writingSelf-publishing has grown significantly over the past few years and many new and established authors are delving into it. I’ve been doing a fair amount of research into this nontraditional form of publishing for my own writings.

Since so much interest has been generated of late I thought I’d let people know about a HuffPost Live webcast Thursday evening June 20th (9:30pm EST/6:30 PST) featuring four very successful self-published writers including Hugh Howey, the author Wool, which has turned out to be an excellent example of the potential of self-publishing.

________________________________
Follow on Twitter
Discussion

8 thoughts on “For anyone interested in self-publishing

  1. This is definitely interesting.I would like to know more about self-publishing.

    Posted by Ayoub Mzee Mzima | June 20, 2013, 5:59 am
  2. My sister originally pushed me to self-publish and I seriously thought about it, but I think the main issue with it is getting enough publicity.

    Posted by misskzebra | June 20, 2013, 6:14 am
    • Misskzebra> Publicity is definitely a concern, you’re right. I’m sure there are strategies to increase an author’s chances of getting noticed. There are avenues like Kindle Singles on Amazon where you can submit work for consideration and Amazon will put a lot of effort into publicizing it.
      There’s also drawing in your blog followers to get an initial following going.

      It seems traditional publishing is so very difficult to get into and there are numerous financial considerations they have before accepting someone’s work. They need to know they will get a return on their investment, right? Unfortunately, this results in many very worthy works being passed on.

      I’d say self-publishing is worth pursuing as an alternative. Just consider, if your work garners some good attention through independent publishing then it’s quite possible a traditional publisher will take notice.

      Posted by BTCarter | June 20, 2013, 12:00 pm
      • I was seriously thinking of posting my novel for free, it’s just a matter of where and which format.

        But then again, I don’t want to sell myself short. It’s a really difficult choice, especially as I’m really struggling to find beta readers.

        Posted by misskzebra | June 20, 2013, 12:06 pm
      • That’s a tough call. Personally, I feel there’s so much work we put into our writings and putting it out there for free is hard to do. I’d at least try to get it out there for purchase. I’ve really become sold on giving Amazon’s self-publishing a try. Have you looked into the resources they offer? It’s pretty impressive.
        https://kdp.amazon.com/self-publishing/signin

        You can actually create whole book online in ebook format and/or for print. The print versions are printed-to-order. You can charge however much you want, if anything.

        If you go that direction, I figure getting some family and friends to read it and give feedback and ratings as well as some of your blog followers just to get some initial momentum going.

        Might be something to consider…

        Posted by BTCarter | June 20, 2013, 12:18 pm
  3. Thanks for posting this. Quite aside from my own interest in self-publishing, this is timely. There has almost been a shooting war on various blogs recently about the validity of self-publishing, spurred on by negative comments from traditional publishing figures. I would like to hear the perspectives of successful self-publishers.

    Posted by Doug Daniel | June 20, 2013, 10:16 am
    • Doug> Yeah I’ve noticed the same thing with traditional publishers coming down on indie authors/publishing. I suppose one could look at it as, all this negativity means they are feeling a bit threatened and if they feel threatened then that must mean self-publishing is making significant progress.

      But yeah it’ll be good hearing about some successes. I’ve been following High Howey, one of the participants. He’s become quite a cheerleader of sorts for independent publishing and supporting anyone who wants to go that direction.

      Posted by BTCarter | June 20, 2013, 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on…

I’m Currently Reading

