//
you're reading...
Miscellaneous, Quotes, SciFi, Writing

Memorable Quote: Becoming a Writer


Memorable Quote pic“The first movie star I remember is Lon Chaney.

The first drawing I made was a skeleton.

The first awe I remember having was of the stars on a summer night in Illinois.

The first stories I read were science-fiction stories in Amazing.

The first time I ever went away from home was to go to New York and see the World of the Future enclosed in the Persiphere and shadowed by the Trylon.

My first decision about a career was at eleven, to be a magician and travel the world with my illusions.

My second decision was at twelve when I got a toy typewriter for Christmas.

And I decided to become a writer.”

– Ray Bradbury

Zen in the Art of Writing

When did you decided to become a writer?

________________________________
Follow on Twitter
Discussion

11 thoughts on “Memorable Quote: Becoming a Writer

  1. you have great words to share with this world i’m gonna follow you , thanks for the inspiration i’m on my first year of writing my mountain adventure nand only have positive feedback.Thanks

    Posted by philip469 | April 14, 2013, 1:13 pm
    • Philip> Thanks! Good luck with your writing. Sounds like you’re on a amazing trek there. Will have to follow your travels.

      Posted by BTCarter | April 14, 2013, 2:46 pm
      • i’m following yours.Can’t wait for more

        Posted by philip469 | April 14, 2013, 2:47 pm
      • I am curious if you are interested in doing promo for promo.I would follow and like your post if you would do the same for me.This ranks your website higher on google search.I’m trying to get lots of views to help my snowboarding , I want ot advertise for companies by getting traffic to my blog in return the companies would help me.If you wonder how you can do the same let me know and i’ll help.Thanks for your time.-Phil

        Posted by philip469 | April 23, 2013, 6:17 pm
  2. Brilliant list of ‘firsts’ here – love how his first second decision impacted so many of us! Thanks for sharing.
    Sheryl

    Posted by bee60 | April 20, 2013, 7:51 am
  3. I don’t remember the exact moment, but I still have a copy of a homemade photocopied and then coloured in, stapled collection of my earliest poems – ages about 10. Before that I wanted to be a portrait painter working on the streets of Paris and wearing a red beret!

    Posted by harulawordsthatserve | April 21, 2013, 12:58 am
  4. I have the perfect answer for that, and it happened in the 6th grade:
    http://norinesnotebook.wordpress.com/about/

    Posted by Norine Acevedo | April 21, 2013, 7:36 pm
  5. beautifull!! Im inspired!! I begun writing one fine day when i had nothing to do – there was no power- no games to play and no siblings to muck around with. – Pen and paper met and that has been a wonderful beginning|!! Have a read of my blog if you fancy a peek into Africa.

    Posted by shahnilpa | April 23, 2013, 2:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on…

I’m Currently Reading

